Got My MFA. Now What?


For my Just Write buddies and fellow MFA grads who are asking, “What now?” and “How do I keep writing in the absence of deadlines?”

Beth Bates

As you may have read in the first installment of the Eliza Tudor Survival Guide to bridge the worlds of MFA-candidate and MFA-wielding god/goddess, Lit Mags are the Wheaties that can power a writer. In Survival Guide 2, writers submit. Step 3…

3. HAVE A PROJECT READY TO WORK ON WHEN YOU GRADUATE

I did my thesis reading and a few hours later I was on a flight with my family to move across the country.  No joke.  The next morning, I looked at all the boxes in this new house, in this new state, with no friends, no childcare, no stinking coffee and I knew only one thing: I had writing waiting for me.  I bought a new calendar and made some deadlines and I got back to work.  I didn’t do this because I loved it (exactly).  I did it because I didn’t just want to…

View original post 91 more words

Leave a Reply

