Found Wonder: Parenting Teens Can Be Downright Astonishing


Dear Moms and Dads of Tiny Ones,

Less blog post than Sunday snapshot of my life, this here message is a note of encouragement to parents covered in applesauce and urine and floating through the bodily fluid era of parenting. It feels like this, too, will not pass, and as aggravating as it can be, it’s a precious time, and you might dread the teen years. Backtalk, hormones, and delinquent behavior you expect, but here is my message in a bottle to you: parenting teenagers can be quite wondrous.

My son, a senior in high school, leaves his homework and hobby detritus scattered all over the dining room table most days, and on top of today’s pile I saw a handout that stopped me cold. Or rather, I guess you could say it stopped me warmbeautiful boy, beautiful mind

I have no idea what his notes mean, but his doodles never cease to thrill me with wonder. The jocks at his school probably think he’s a nerd, but his mind and passion for language and linguistics delight this mama. What a joy to watch your children’s strengths and fascinations emerge.

And my darling sophomore-in-high school daughter, who is away this MLK weekend to play guitar on a youth retreat, warmed me Friday morning before she left for school and I left for work. As she came into my room for our morning goodbye hug and smooch, in a mournful voice she said, “Aww, I won’t see you till Monday?” The realization that I have a daughter, almost sixteen, who still adores me and would miss my company makes me feel like the luckiest mom in the world.

So you infant-cradling, Goodnight Moon-reading young moms and dads worried about your little angels growing out of this present, precious phase, take heart: don’t worry about the teen years. You think these are the sweetest days, but just you wait. It only gets better.

Love,

Beth

Babies Then
Babies Then
Babies Now
Babies Now
4 thoughts on “Found Wonder: Parenting Teens Can Be Downright Astonishing

  1. Love this. I, too, loved the high school years. Not just my own teen, but those belonging to others! It was a bit of a surprise, as you note. When they they are born, you imagine and then begin to see the wings … but they are beautiful, so beautiful in flight.

  2. People in my theatre class were puzzled as to why the standard pronunciation is not [nū] but [njū]. This note is an explanation.
    níwe [nīwə]: Old English word for “new”
    A sound shift occurred between Middle and Modern English from [nīw(ə)] to [njū].
    The archaic character ƿ (wynn, meaning joy) was the Old English character for the w sound, descended from the Germanic rune ᚹ (*ƿunjō).

    ƕair [hwär] is an IPA character representing the [hw] sound in transcription of the Gothic letter 𐍈.

    ðæt [pronounced like its modern form “that”] was used in Old English and survives in Icelandic. It represents the voiced dental fricative, like the initial consonant of “that” and “the”. Oðþæt (þorn [thorn] is the unvoiced equivalent of ðæt) was the Old English word for “or” and is abbreviated in the ligature below it. þencan=to think

Leave a Reply

